Your party

Our Issues

Our Events


The Presidency

The Presidency meets regularly (every two to four months) in between Congresses and takes decisions on the daily management of the work of the PES.

The Presidency consists of the President (who chairs the meetings), one representative of each full member party, one representative of each full member organisation, the Secretary General and the President of the Parliamentary Group of the PES. The President of the European Parliament (if s/he is a member of the Socialist & Democrats Group) and one representative per associate party/organization also take part in Presidency meetings.


Ad Personam

Sergei Stanishev - President
Achim Post - Secretary General 

Full Members of the Presidency

Werner Faymann - SPÖ Austria
Gilles Mahieu - PS Belgium
Said El-Khadraoui - SP.A Belgium
Kristian Vigenin - BSP Bulgaria
Neven Mimica - SDP Croatia
Sophocles Sophocleous - EDEK Cyprus
Vladimir Spidla - CSSD Czech Republic
Jeppe Kofod - SD Denmark
Jevgeni Ossinovski- SDE Estonia
Tytti Tuppurainen - SDP Finland
Alain Richard - PS France
Martin Schulz - SPD Germany
Sylvana Rapti - PASOK Greece
László Kovács - MSZP Hungary
Alexandra Dobolyi - MSZDP Hungary
Ruairi Quinn - Treasurer; LP Ireland
Luca Cefisi - PS Italy
Vytenis Andriukaitis - LSDP Lithuania
Alex Bodry - LSAP Luxembourg
George Vella - PL Malta
Kirsten Meijer - PvdA Netherlands
Raymond Johansen- DNA Norway
Boguslaw Liberadzki - SLD Poland
to be nominated - UP Poland
João Assunção Ribeiro - PS Portugal
Corina Cretu PSD Romania
Katarína Neved'alová - SMER Slovakia
Tanja Fajon - SD Slovenia
Elena Valenciano - PSOE Spain
Tommy Waidelich - SAP Sweden
Emma Reynolds - LP Great Britain, United Kingdom
Margaret Ritchie - SDLP Northern Ireland

Full Member Organizations

Hannes Swoboda - S&D Group in the European Parliament
Karl-Heinz Lambertz - PES Group in the Committee of the Regions
Zita Gurmai - PES Women
Kaisa Penny - ECOSY
Ernst Stetter - FEPS

Associate parties

Edi Rama - PSS Albania
Zlatko Lagumdzija - SDP Bosnia Herzegovina
Sveltina Yolcheva - PBS Bulgaria
to be nominated - SDUM FYR Macedonia
Árni Páll Árnason - Samylkingin Iceland
to be nominated - DPS Montenegro
Ranko Krivokapic - SDP Montenegro
Boris Tadic - DS Serbia
Walter Suter - SP Switzerland
Eyyup Doru  - BDP Turkey
Kader Sevinç - CHP Turkey

Associate Organisations

Paulina Lampsa - Socialist International
Andreas Gross - Socialist Group in the Council of Europe
To be nominated - Socialist Group in the OSCE

Do you like this page?

President's blog

Posted by

Dear friends, First of all I would like to thank all who took part in the European elections between 22 and 25 May. To our voters: thanks for your support and for your trust. Our representatives will do their utmost during these 5 years to work towards a new Europe....

Posted by

With 36 days, dear friends, until the European election, I would like to welcome you to our brand new website. With our Common Candidate for Commission President, Martin Schulz ( ), these European elections are very different. And I am very proud to say that with our new website things...

Posted by

Today there are 226 days* to go until the polling stations across Europe open for the European Parliament Election 2014. We will enter the election campaign as a united, coherent and modern political family. In order to reach this goal we took a historic decision to bring the European democracy...