Prime Ministers

  • António Costa

    António Costa
    Socialist Party (PS), Portugal

    Prime Minister of Portugal


    António Costa was born on 17 July 1961, in Lisbon. He has a degree in Law and a post-graduate degree in European Studies.

    He worked as a lawyer and we was a member of the Portuguese Parliament from 1994 to 2004. Mr. Costa was Secretary of State of the Parliamentary Affairs between 1995 and 1997, and Minister of the Parliament Affairs between November 1997 and October 1999. He then became Minister of Justice (October 1999 to April 2002).

    António Costa was elected to the European Parliament in 2004 and he returned to Lisbon in March 2005 to join the new socialist government as Minister of State and Internal Administration.

    He was Mayor of Lisbon from 2007 until 2015.

    Mr. Costa is General Secretary of the Socialist Party since November 2014 and is currently the Prime Minister of Portugal.


  • Stefan Löfven

    Stefan Löfven
    Social Democratic Party, Sweden

    Prime Minister of Sweden


    Welder and trade unionist. Born in Stockholm in 1957, athough he grew up in Ådalen. He studied economics and then social work at the Umeå University. He had a welding training between the two. He worked as a postman and in industry before moving to defend workers’ rights from the Swedish Metal Workers’ Union of which, after two decades of membership, he became the president in 2006.

    In 2012 he was elected leader of Socialdemokraterna, the Swedish Social Democratic Party. He is the Prime Minister of Sweden since 2014.
    Between 2002 and 2006, he sat at the board of the Olof Palme International Centre, the umbrella organisation for the Swedish labour movement named after the iconic Swedish Prime Minister.

    He is married.


  • Mette Frederiksen

    Mette Frederiksen Mette Frederiksen
    Socialdemokratiet Denmark

    Prime Minister of Denmark 


  • Antti Rinne

    Antti Rinne
    SDP Finland

    Prime Minister of Finland 


    Antti Rinne was born in Helsinlki on 3 November 1962.

    He has a Master in Law and worked as a trade unionist for more than a decade. He was elected leader of the SDP Finland in 2014. He served as Minister of Finance and Deputy Prime Minister in 2014-2015. Following general elections in the Spring of 2019, Antti Rinne became Prime Minister of Finland on 6 June.  


  • Pedro Sánchez

    Pedro Sánchez
    PSOE, Spain

    Prime Minister of Spain



  • Joseph Muscat

    Joseph Muscat
    Labour Party (PL), Malta

    Prime Minister of Malta


    Joseph Muscat was born in Pietà, Malta on 22 January 1974. He graduated with Honours from the University of Malta in Public Policy and later as Master of European Studies. In 2007 he attained a Doctorate of Philosophy in Management Research from the University of Bristol (UK).

    From 1992-1997 he was a journalist and eventually Assistant Head of news with a national private radio station. He was elected member to the National Executive of the Partit Laburista at the age of 21 and later nominated as Education Secretary of the Party. From 1997 to 1998 he was a member of the National Commission for Fiscal Morality. He successfully contested the first European Parliamentary elections in Malta in 2004. In 2006 he was the recipient of the Outstanding Young Person of the Year. In 2008 he was elected as the Leader of the Partit Laburista.


  • Peter Pellegrini

    Peter Pellegrini
    SMER-SD, Slovakia

    Prime Minister of Slovakia



  • Viorica Dăncilă

    Viorica Dăncilă

    Prime Minister of Romania


Deputy Prime Ministers

  • Olaf Scholz

    Olaf Scholz
    SPD Germany

    Vice-Chancellor of Germany

    Olaf Scholz was born on 14 June 1958 in Osnabrück, Lower Saxony, and he is a lawyer by training.

    Mr. Scholz joined the SPD in 1975, becoming Deputy Federal Chairman of the Young Socialists from 1982-88 and Vice-President of the International Union of Social Youth between 1987-89.

    He was a member of the Bundestag from 1998-2001 and 2002-2011.

    In 2002 he became the General Secretary of the SPD - a position he fulfilled until 2004 - and in 2005 he was the Chief Whip of the SPD group in the parliament.

    Between November 2007 and October 2009 he was the Federal Minister of Labour and Social Affairs.

    In 2011 he was elected First Mayor of Hamburg and he became Federal Minister of Finance and Vice-Chancellor in March 2018.



  • Jean Asselborn

    Jean Asselborn
    LSAP Luxembourg

    Deputy Prime Minister of Luxembourg

    Minister of European and Foreign Affairs, Immigration and Asylum of Luxembourg. Born in 1949 in Steinfort, where he was Mayor.

    He served as a Vice-President of the Party of European Socialists from 2000 to 2004.

    After having left school at the age of 18, Jean Asselborn attended evening classes to obtain his secondary school diploma. In October 1981, he graduated in private judicial law at the University Nancy II. Upon obtaining his final secondary school diploma, he became the administrator of the hospital of his home town.

    Following the legislative elections of 2004, Jean Asselborn was appointed Deputy Prime Minister, and Minister of Foreign Affairs and Immigration.

    In June 2009, Jean Asselborn retained the offices of Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs. He is currently the longest-serving Foreign Affairs minister of the EU.

    In October 2012, his diplomatic work led to Luxembourg being elected to a non-permanent seat at the UN Security Council for the first time.

    Jean Asselborn chaired his party, the Socialist Labour Party of Luxembourg (LSAP), from 1997 to 2004. He was the chairman of the parliamentary group of the LSAP from 1989 to 1997 and he was a Vice-President of the Parliament from 1999 to 2004. He had been an MP since 1984.

    Asselborn launched his professional career in a Uniroyal laboratory in 1967. It was during this time that he became actively involved in the trade union movement.

    In December 2010, Jean Asselborn was awarded the Grand Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany. In October 2013, he was appointed Commander of the National Order of the Legion of Honour of the French Republic.


  • Jan Hamáček

    Jan Hamáček

    Deputy Prime Minister of Czech Republic