PES in the EU Institutions

The European Parliament 

European Parliament

The PES is represented in all the European Institutions by its member organisations and leaders. In the European Parliament, the PES is represented by the Progressive Alliance of the Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament, also known as the S&D group. It has 154 members from 26 member states. The leader of the group is Iratxe García Pérez

The President of the European Parliament is David Sassoli, a member of the S&D Group.

EU Summits and the Council of the EU

Some of the national governments of the 28* member states of the EU are run by social democrats, alone or in coalition with other forces. Our heads of state and government attend EU summits in the Council, in Brussels. Their ministers have monthly meetings, too. We always coordinate positions within our political family prior to these important meetings.

The European Commission

The PES is also represented at the European Commission, the executive arm of the EU. Currently, eight of the European commissioners belong to PES member parties. We have two commission vice-presidents and some of the most important policy sectors covered by our members.

The Committee of the Regions

Members of our political family sit in the Committee of Regions, a consultation body to the EU where regional governments are represented. Christophe Rouillon is the acting President of the PES Group in the Committee of the Regions. Additionally, the President of the European Committee of the Regions is Karl-Heinz Lambertz, member of our political family.