PES Foreign and European Affairs Ministers with a declaration on Brexit, calling for swift action


PES GAC ministers

Ministers of the European and the Foreign Affairs from the PES Family have signed a common declaration on the UK Referendum a few hours after the results were announced.“We regret this outcome. It has always been our aim to continue our work with the government and the people of the United Kingdom on a more prosperous and a more secure Europe within the context of the Union”, the document says.

It is now crucial that the British government follows up on the referendum result and activates the withdrawal clause through article 50 at the fastest possible track”, the document says and urges towards better European Union by creating jobs, growth, security and stability.

Read the full declaration.

List of participants:

Jean Asselborn, Minister of Foreign Affair, Minister of Immigration and Asylum & Chair of PES Foreign Affairs, Luxemburg
Lubomír Zaorálek, Minister of Foreign Affair, Czech Republic
Jean Marc Ayrault, Minister of Foreign Affairs, France
Harlem Désir, Minister of State for European Affairs, France
Frank Walter Steinmeier, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Germany
Michael Roth, Minister of State for Europe, Germany Paolo Gentiloni, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Italy
Sandro Gozi, State Secretary for European Affairs, Italy
Ian Borg, Parliamentary Secretary for EU funds and 2017 Presidency, Malta
Bert Koenders, Minister of Foreign Affairs, The Netherlands
Margarida Marques, State Secretary For European Affairs, Portugal
Miroslav Lajčák, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Foreign and European Affairs , Slovak Republic
Ann Linde, Minister of EU Affairs and Trade, Sweden
Federica Mogherini, High Representative for Foreign Affairs, EEAS
Maria Joao Rodrigues, Vice President of the S&D Group, European Parliament
Knut Fleckenstein, Vice President of the S&D Group, European Parliament