PES on Labour Day: Reducing social impact, protecting jobs, and achieving sustainability should be at the core of recovery from COVID crisis

02/05/2020 - Livestream featuring progressive prime minister, commissioners, MEPs and leaders of PES member parties discussed Europe’s next steps

Labour Day livestream

Frans Timmermans, Executive Vice-president of the European Commission, and Sergei Stanishev, President of PES during the Labour Day livestream.

With Europe in lockdown the PES took Labour Day online with a livestream featuring a progressive prime minister, commissioners and leaders.

Co-hosted by Frans Timmermans, Executive Vice-President of the European Commission and Sergei Stanishev, President of the PES, the livestream on 1 May was broadcasted on multiple social media pages across Europe.

PES president Sergei Stanishev said:

“The current COVID crisis requires true demonstration of our values – solidarity, good working conditions, strong rights, decent pay. May Day rallies could not take place this year. But the determination of socialists and democrats remains unchanged. And the principles that we fight for are more relevant than ever.”

Commissioners, MEPs and leaders agreed during the livestream that the recovery process after the COVID crisis should lead to fairer and more sustainable Europe. They expressed gratitude to all the essential workers - and, above all, the healthcare workers - for their brave efforts.

“This crisis shows that they are the true power behind our economies and societies”, Stanishev added.

The livestream, held mainly in English, was translated in French, German, Spanish, and Italian, reaching a pan-European audience. You can watch recordings of the livestream: English, French, German, and Spanish.


List of participants:

Sergei Stanishev, President of PES

Frans Timmermans, Executive Vice-president of the European Commission
Nicolas Schmit, Commissioner for Jobs and Social Rights
Paolo Gentiloni, Commissioner for the Economy
Elisa Ferreira, Commissioner for Cohesion and Reforms
Helena Dalli, Commissioner for Equality
Jutta Urpilainen, Commissioner for International Partnerships
Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-president of the Commission for Inter-institutional Relations and Foresight
Josep Borrell, High Representative for the EU

David Sassoli, President of the European Parliament 
Iratxe Garcia, President of the S&D Group 
Luca Visentini, Secretary General of the ETUC

Pedro Sanchez, Prime Minister of Spain

Norbert Walter-Borjans, Co-Leader of the SPD, Germany
Nicola Zingaretti, Leader of Partito Democratico, Italy
Paul Magnette, Leader PS Belgium
Robert Biedron, MEP and Polish presidential candidate
Antti Rinne, Leader SDP Finland
Lodewijk Asscher, Leader of the Labour Party, the Netherlands
Conner Rousseau, Leader of sp.a, Belgium
Colum Eastwood, Leader of the SDLP, Northern Ireland
Enzo Maraio, Leader of PSI, Italy
Alicia Homs Ginel MEP, President of the Young European Socialists
Christophe Rouillon, PES CoR Group President
Zita Gurmai, President of PES Women