PES Finance Ministers assess political and economic priorities following the British referendum


Family photo ECOFIN ministers

Finance Ministers from the PES family have met in Brussels prior to ECOFIN Council meeting. The Ministers discussed progressive priorities of the European Union’s economic policy following the outcome of the British referendum. The Ministers had a lively discussion on the political and economic impact of the BREXIT. They assessed different approaches on how to make progress towards strengthening the ability of the European Institutions to deliver a social European Union.

Pier Carlo Padoan, Italian Finance Minister and chair of the PES ECOFIN Ministers’ Network, commented after the meeting: ‘The decision of British citizens to leave the European Union has been met with a great regret in our political family. The BREXIT has an impact on both the EU and the UK, but it has given the EU the opportunity to reflect and assess its future ambitions and aims. This dramatic event can also bring new opportunities to make the European Union more stable, more equal and more economically robust’.

The meeting was also attended by 

Pier Carlo Padoan

Finance Minister



Michel Sapin

Finance Minister


Carsten Schneider

Deputy chair of the SPD parliamentary group in the Bundestag


Rasa Budbergyte

Finance Minister


Edward Scicluna

Finance Minister


Jeroen Dijsselbloem

Finance Minister

The Netherlands

Mario Centeno

Finance Minister


Peter Kažimír

Finance Minister


Ivan Lesay

State Secretary at the Ministry of Finance


Karolina Ekholm

State Secretary at the Ministry of Finance


Pierre Moscovici

Commissioner for Economic and Financial Affairs, Taxation and Customs

European Commission

Maria Joao Rodrigues

Vice President of the S&D Group in the European Parliament

European Parliament

Roberto Gualtieri

Chair of the ECON Committee in the European Parliament

European Parliament

Pervence Beres

S&D Group Coordinator for the ECON Committee in the European Parliament

European Parliament

Udo Bullmann

Member of the EP ECON Committee, Head of the S&D German delegation

European Parliament

Yonnec Polet

Deputy Secretary General